Meeting people

As much fun as it is constantly asking for a table for one, and sitting in bars reading papers/books alone, it’s more fun when you’ve got company and you can have a few beers, a good conversation, and a bit of a laugh. With the hockey season being in limbo at the moment – end of normal hockey season, summer hockey yet to start it’s a bit more of a challenge to get to know people. With this in mind, it was time to turn to google: Hong Kong, expat, forums turned up a few hits, and there does seem to be a fairly lively expat online community. One such posting was that there was a leaving drinks bash being organised for Saturday 26th May – with all welcome, even newcomers. The location was due to be a pub called the Dublin Jack – which I do recall seeing, but can’t remember where exactly. Checking the lonely planet (and online) suggests it’s in Soho/mid-levels so I figure I can doublecheck where it is a few days beforehand and then make a decision on the Saturday as to whether to go or not.

Mid-levels is a pretty cool area, and as it’s up the hill they’ve built an escalator to take the strain out of getting there. This escalator runs down for a short time in the morning and then up for the rest of the day until about midnight. Considering the heat and humidity I have to say it’s a great idea. What’s no so great is me going up and down a section of mid-levels repeatedly searching for the Dublin Jack pub. Being a typical bloke, I’m certainly not going to admit failure and actually ask someone. That would have the following unfortunate consequences; I’d be admitting I haven’t a clue what I’m doing, and I’d probably ask someone who didn’t speak English. After about the fifth sweep of the same section of mid-levels I decide to give up and come to the conclusion it’s not where the book says it is. In disgust I head over to Lan Kwai Fong to have a drink there. It’s still nagging in the back of my mind that I know I’ve seen this pub before somewhere.

As I’m about to walk into the Bulldog pub I see above it is a separate pub served by a small door to it’s right… called the Dublin Jack. It’s only taken me the best part of two hours and lots of traipsing up and down the mid-levels in completely the wrong place, but at least I’ve found it. As can be inferred from the name, it’s an ‘Irish’ pub as it has Dublin in the name and serves sausages and mash as one of it’s dishes.

When Saturday comes I duly head along to the Dublin Jack, and completely bottle joining the group who have gathered for the leaving drinks. Instead I have a couple of bottles of beer and watch Australia narrowly beat Wales at rugby. After drinking two beers I’ve summoned up enough courage to go and say hello, with the plan being to have a few drinks, meet a few people and then get home for a sensible time that night… It’s 4:00am (and pouring with rain) by the time I finally crawl in to my apartment/boxroom. As is always the case when I meet new people I very quickly lose track of faces to names. Collected some business cards so hopefully will figure things out in the future. Apparently there’s a pub quiz in the Bulldog pub below that quite a few go to every Tuesday. Watched England get thumped by South Africa which was quite amusing – although I seemingly got lumped into the England supporters group which wasn’t quite so amusing. And apparently I don’t sound Irish. All in all a very entertaining evening – and far better than a table for one.

I was due to go hiking the next day with Chris from the office – however, conveniently this has had to be cancelled due to the inclement weather. In other words it’s likely to be torrential rain with thunderstorms at any moment. This is good news, because:

  • I’m horribly hungover and the prospect of hiking is not a nice one
  • We were due to meet at, for a Sunday, an unsociably early time (9am)
  • About midday it absolutely tips down with rain, and it would have been thoroughly unpleasant
One Response to “Meeting people”

  1. Stu Says:

    Good to hear you’re getting out and about!

Leave a Reply

